Omaha’s Metro Basketball League

The Metro Basketball League is an NCAA sanctioned league that aims to help serve collegiate and professional players by giving them the opportunity to compete and improve themselves in the off-season. We host several local college teams from all levels of competition. While the MBL allows entire college teams to play together, the NCAA prohibits Division I players competing together on the same team so we hold a draft for all Division I players, professional players, and local players.


We have been blessed to have some great players play in our league including Creighton graduates Doug McDermott, Gregory Echenique, Ethan Wragge,  Kyle Korver, Ben Walker, Anthony Tolliver, and Nate Funk; and Nebraska graduates John Turek, Jason Dourisseau, Wes Wilkinson, Andrew Drevo, and Charles Richardson. We host all current Creighton University and University of Nebraska-Omaha players and incoming recruits along with other local prospects who compete at the Division I level outside of the state.  The local colleges that compete in our league range from Weber State to the University of South Dakota to Hastings College and out to Morningside in Sioux City, Iowa.

We are very happy to provide this league at no charge for fans. Admission to all games is free to the public. For info on upcoming schedules and team rosters, check out the links on this site.  Roster sheets with jersey numbers will be available for purchase to help offset facility and other administrative costs.

UNO Alumni are the 2015 MBL Champs



2015 Schedule


MBL Tournament recap:
Semifinal and Finals

MBL Tournament recap:
Opening Round, Second Round, Quarterfinals

MBL Tournament bracket posted

Session 5 Recap

Session 5 Preview

Session 4 Recap

Session 3 Recap

Session 3 Preview

Session 2 Recap

Session 2 preview

Session 1 Recap

Session 1 preview

Welcome to the newest MBL sponsor, NE HS Hoops


Share this article:Email this to someonePrint this pageTweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+